Home | About Jinhua | Government | Business | Tourism | Living | Study | Survey
Focus on Jinhua  
Home > Focus on Jinhua
Pan Jianwei Wins Future Science Prize
Post Time: 18/09/2017

On the afternoon of September 9, the Second Future Science Prize Laureate Ceremony was held in Beijing. This award has been called the Nobel Prize of China. Pan Jianwei, professor at the University of Science and Technology of China and chief of the quantum satellite project, was awarded the Physical Science Prize; Shi Yigong, a structural biologist and professor at Tsinghua University, was awarded the Life Science Prize; and Xu Chenyang, professor at Beijing International Center for Mathematical Research, was awarded the Mathematical & Computer Science Prize. In addition, each of the winners was awarded one million dollars.

The prize citation for the Jinhua scientist Pan Jianwei read as follows: For his innovative contribution to quantum optical technology, enabling practical implementation of secure communication through quantum key distribution.

Established in 2016 and held every year since, the Future Science Prize is the first private science prize jointly established by scientists and entrepreneurs in Mainland China. The Future Science Prize Committee is composed of 15 ethnic Chinese scientists who have made great achievements in different scientific fields. Laureates of the Prize are selected regardless of citizenship, provided that their achievements are original and innovative, have long-term significance, or great international influence. In 2016, Yuk-Ming Dennis Lo, professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, won the first Life Science Prize, and Xue Qikun, professor at Tsinghua University won the first Physical Science Prize. The Mathematical & Computer Science Prize was newly added in 2017. (By Wang Jian, translated by Luo Junying, edited by Xiamara Hohman)


[Print] [Close][Top]
Copyright Jinhua Municipal People's Government